Les Personnes – Avery Swartz

Avery Swartz is not a Jew. Surprising. With a name like Swartz. Actually, it would be surprising if it was Shwartz. That is more Jewish. I digress.

Avery is one of the 2 returning staff members from last year. The others left because they either hate me, or hate themselves. (or for rational reasons which I’m not interested in).

Avery, essentially, ensures that the entire Festival maintains a high level of work ethic. What do I mean by that? She is impossibly positive, while equally rigorous, enthusiastic and supportive. She is tireless. She has personally made my transition much easier, and a sincere friend to SummerWorks and the Arts. I hope she stays with SummerWorks forever, but she will likely not once you all start hiring her. In short, she is brilliant.

She asked me to post just the young one, but I want both up because you need to know who she is when you go up to her and say “holy crap, you’re good at what you do!”

1. Who are you?

I’m Avery, the publicist.

2. Why are you doing here?

Hmmm… Why am I doing here? That’s a pretty existential question. For now, I am doing here to publicize your shows.

3. What do you hope for the festival.

Lots and lots and lots of press coverage. Like the front page of the Globe and Mail. Hey, it can happen…

4. What are you most interested in.

At SummerWorks… The new Music Series and Performance Gallery. In general… Modern design, Cinnamon Toast Crunch, and my dog.

5. What are you worried about?

Bums in seats! Also, I don’t like it when there’s nasty weather and the off-sites have to cancel their shows.

6. Any final words?

I can’t wait to see your show. And I’ll tell people about it!

Leave a Reply

