Hero & Leander, by Wade Bogert O’Brien, Scott Christian and Kevin Michael Shea

HERO & LEANDER PRESENTS…PLENTY OF FISH

Common Descent’s Hero & Leander is an epic love story, a romantic comedy, and a contemporary musical based on a myth thousands of years old. For those of us who do not have a Classics degree (and that would include everyone involved in this project), we thought we’d offer up a little breakdown of the story’s main characters…

 NEPTUNE, LORD OF THE SEA
Looking for:
Men/Women/Mammals (no rodents, please)
Age: 
6000
Sign:
Pisces
Location: 
The penthouse of an exclusive, gated, seaside condominium – if you don’t know where it is, you’re not welcome
Body Type: 
I make Adonis look like a pregnant cow
Smoking Habits:
 Malboro Heavies
Drinking Habits:
 It’s never too early for a glass of wine or a gin and tonic or a vodka martini or a twelve pack of beer or a whiskey on the rocks or a few fingers of absinthe
Religion:
 Agnostic
Language(s) spoken:
 Fluent in Greek and Italian, Passable Dutch
Have Children:
 I’d rather not talk about it
Want Children:
No thank youI have enough as it is

VENUS, GODDESS OF LOVE
Looking for:
Group sex
Age:
3000, I swear
Sign:
Libra
Location:
I’m summering at the Temple of the Goddess of Venus, in Sestos, Turkey
Height:
In heels, or in extra tall heels?
Body Type:
Oh, just look at the Botticelli…or Google image me (with ‘SafeSearch’ off)
Ethnic Background:
Mediterranean with a splash of WASP
Smoking Habits:
Virginia Slims
Drinking Habits:
It’s not a habit, it’s a lifestyle
Religion:
Atheist
Language(s) spoken:
Any Romance language, really (haw haw)
Have Children:
My infant son is a professional archer

GANYMEDE, CUPBEARER TO THE GODS
Looking for:
Commitment, PLEASE!
Age:
I’d rather not say
Sign:
Capricorn
Location:
Currently Olympus, but I’ll be moving into my boyfriend’s penthouse condo soon
Occupation:
Bartender, love slave
Ethnic Background:
Trojan
Drinking Habits:
California whites for summer, Italian reds if they’re well paired, and I’m always a sucker for a good bottle of Champagne
Religion:
Devout follower of the cult of Neptune
Language(s) spoken:
German, Spanish, Mandarin, English
Have Children:
Maybe one day we’ll adopt, if the timing’s right…

LEANDER
Looking for:
Love
Age:
24
Sign:
Aquarius
Location:
Abydos
Interests: Night swimming, falling in love, night swimming with someone you love…
About me: I’m a lifeguard and soon-to-be Olympic swimmer, my favourite movie is Annie Hall, I listen to a lot of independent music, and I love tapas. I’m a hopeful romantic, and believe that life’s far too short to waste any time being alone.

HERO
Looking for:
Friendship
Age:
23
Sign:
Virgo
Location:
Sestos
Interests: Chastity.
About me: I’m a vegetarian, my favourite movie is The Sorrow and the Pity, and I love candles, but not in a lame, New-Agey way – I just think they’re really beautiful. Please don’t message me if you’re looking for your next wife. Life’s far too short to spend making someone else miserable.

 HERO & LEANDER

Lyrics by Wade Bogert-O’Brien, Music by Scott Christian, Book/Directed by Kevin Michael Shea Cast: Fraser Elsdon, Rick Jon Egan, Rob Kempson, Kimberly Persona, Kaitlin Torrance, Stage Manager: Emily Hofstetter, Assistant Stage Manager:  James Everett, Set & Costume Design: Anna Treusch, Lighting Design: C.J. Astronomo, Sound Design: Tim Lindsay, Sound Operator/Design: Alex Stein, Assistant to the Designers: Kai Masaoka, Producer: Jessica Beaulieu, Production Manager: Gillian Lewis,  Choreographer: Patricia Allison, Composer/Musical Director/Piano: Scott Christian, Co-Musical Director/Guitar: Mike Moss, Drums: Aaron Spink.

Showtimes:

Thursday August 4th 5:00 PM

Saturday August 6th 7:30 PM

Sunday August 7th 10:00 PM

Wednesday August 10th 7:30 PM

Friday August 12th 2:30 PM

Saturday August 13th 5:00 PM

Venue: Factory Theatre Mainspace

Leave a Reply

