I Love This Band, and You Should Too : Great Bloomers

(Musical Gushings By Lauren Schreiber, SummerWorks Music Series Programmer)

Part 4: This Band Is Forever


I’ve known Great Bloomers for a long time now, since the very first shows I ever put on. They came to me, recommended by a friend and highly credible musical source, and based on the one song I’d heard… I was sold. When the band, then barely out of high school, arrived at the venue for soundcheck, we circled each other with trepidation; the baby-faced band still playing their first handful of shows, the unknown promoter, still making a name for  herself. Neither of us knew what to expect from the other. And when the band later took the stage at the sold out show, and absolutely BLEW ME AWAY with their timeless songwriting, accomplished musicianship and performance well beyond even their collective years… I knew this was not a flash-in-the-pan kind of band.

I knew this one was for real.

Bloomers are Cohen, Lightfoot, Mitchell and Young… timelessly Canadian; they make the kind of music that will still be relevant and sound beautiful years and years from now. I’m proud to say I knew them when.

GREAT BLOOMERS – You’re Everywhere from Mitch Fillion (southernsouls.ca) on Vimeo.

and they have a penchant for Fleetwood Mac covers…

See Great Bloomers play SummerWorks Wednesday August 10th at the Lower Ossington Theater. Also, tell your friends you’re going on the social networking site ‘FaceBook’.

www.myspace.com/greatbloomers
greatbloomers.com/

Leave a Reply

