I Love This Band, and You Should Too : Miracle Fortress

(Musical Gushings By Lauren Schreiber, SummerWorks Music Series Programmer)

Part 6: Miracle Fortress – The Visionary.

This is how I remember first meeting Miracle Fortress’s Graham Van Pelt… a broody red head, sitting on the concrete floor of a loft space/concert venue he’d co-created, twiddling with knobs and creating soundscapes. What a sour puss.

My first small scale concerts growing up in Montreal, Graham was always around, whether it was as tech, performer or producer… he was everywhere, but I didn’t know what to think… at the time, I was used to my friends bands that involved fun outfits and shouting choruses and razzle dazzle.

Graham didn’t wear a cape, or a mask… his focus was elsewhere (on the music… who would’ve thought). He also didn’t smile much, he was always focused on the task at hand. Sometimes what he was up to was clear to me, other times I didn’t get it, but at the very least Graham always seemed to know exactly what he was doing.

I don’t think at the time I fully appreciated the depth of his vision.

Then ‘5 Roses’ came out.

It was a  perfect album. And he traveled the world with it. And he was nominated for a bunch of awards. And he was on all my mixtaps, and my friends mixtaps, and my friends friends mixtaps. And I finally “got” where Graham was going, where he seemed to know he was going all along.

Graham writes miraculous songs.

and now I can’t wait to see the new album (Was I The Wave) live… because I trust Graham. I trust his talent and his work ethic and his vision. I trust his musicianship and his voice and I think, I think, he’s even smiling these days. And I get it.

I hope to share it with you.

Miracle Fortress – Miscalculations from LaundroMatinee on Vimeo.

Miracle Fortress – Tracers from LaundroMatinee on Vimeo.

“Everything Works” by Miracle Fortress – BTR Live Studio [ep 37] from BreakThru Radio TV on Vimeo.



See Miracle Fortress play SummerWorks Friday August 12th at the Lower Ossington Theater. Also, tell your friends you’re going on the social networking site ‘FaceBook’.

One thought on “I Love This Band, and You Should Too : Miracle Fortress

  1. Pingback: The Take Media | Summerworks Music Series: Ruby Coast Celebrates a Birthday and Miracle Fortress Time Travels

Leave a Reply

