Summer Daily

I think it’s time to introduce myself. My name is Hannah Rittner and I have been the person writing the SummerWorks blog for the last week, which has been a lot of fun!

I am a recent graduate of the University of King’s College. At King’s I had an amazing time creating theatre, participating in animated discussions, and having impromptu jamming sessions with friends. I also studied! The studying was quite exceptional and challenging. My favourite thinkers are Luce Irigaray, Walter Benjamin, Hannah Arendt, and Michael Frayn. On my spare time I write, listen to music, wonder into book stores, see theatre, laugh and cook for my family and friends.

The playwrights I love the most right now are Sam Sheppard, Shakespeare, Sarah Ruhl, Tennessee Williams, Kristen Thomson and Morris Panych. But don’t quote me on that, the list is always expanding and contracting. I don’t have favourite theatre performances, I have moments, and those moments are too vast to list here.

I magically fell into SummerWorks at the beginning of this summer before I left for New York. Currently I am the intern for the festival, like I was in June. This is brilliant news because it means I get to continue learning about the many facets of SummerWorks. I’m overjoyed to be working with Michael Rubenfeld and Joanna Barrotta again.

So yes, that’s that. I’m sure there will be opportunities to meet me in person should you find yourself in the SummerWorks office when I am there. By next week I will be there at least once a week checking mail and phone messages.

Hopefully this introduction satisfies you! I will end with leaving a video of one of my dearest friends Breagh Potter. She is making waves in the East for her soulful and pure resonating sound. Some of the best moments in my life in Halifax were spent sitting in Breagh’s living room listening to her band spontaneously erupt into song. I know you’ll love her as much as I do. She is an exquisite performer that is always open to spontaneity; she pours herself into every moment of the show. One day I hope she makes it to Toronto again.

In this video Breagh talks about making her first album and beautifully sings the song Black Birds. You can also listen to her on CBC Radio 3.

Have a glorious day and enjoy the music!

Leave a Reply

