Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award

The Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award 2009

Nomination Form

Download the nomination form and more information for the Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award from the PACT website

Deadline for submissions is March 26, 2009


Toronto, February 17th, 2009 – The Professional Association of Canadian Theatres (PACT) is pleased to announce a call for nominations for the 2009 Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award. The deadline for nominations is Thursday, March 26, 2009.

This $5000 Award was initiated in celebration of PACT’s 30th anniversary in 2006-2007 and named in honour of Mallory Gilbert, who was Tarragon Theatre’s General Manager for 34 years and one of the founders and Past President of PACT. Supported by the PACT Communications Centre (PCC) and by Tarragon Theatre, the annual Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award celebrates and recognizes outstanding leadership within the Canadian Theatre community.

The Award includes a $1000 portion presented to a protégé chosen by the Award winner, underlining the importance of skills and knowledge transmission in leadership building. Mallory Gilbert, the Award’s namesake, is one of Canada’s most respected arts managers. In addition to her successful 34-year tenure at Toronto’s Tarragon Theatre, she has served on numerous local and national boards of directors and advisory boards. Ms. Gilbert served on PACT’s Board for 20 years (as PACT President 1989-1993), and she was the recipient of PACT Honourary Life Membership in 2005. By mentoring countless aspiring arts administrators during the course of her career, she has shaped the careers of many of Canada’s theatre leaders and encouraged the creation of exciting new theatre ventures.

The Panel

The 2009 Selection Panel for the Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award is currently composed of Mallory Gilbert (Toronto, ON), former recipients Jenny Munday (Dorts Cove, NS) and Cherry Karpyshin (Winnipeg, NB), with further panelists to be announced. The Selection Panel will review all nominations and select one winner, judging nominations against the eligibility requirements. At its discretion, the Selection Panel may choose to grant no award or multiple awards in one year. All Selection Panel deliberations are strictly confidential. The award recipient will be named at the 2009 PACT Conference in Montreal, QC.


In an exceptional collaboration based on their deep appreciation for Mallory’s contribution to both organizations and their shared commitment to leadership in the theatre community, Tarragon Theatre and PACT Communications Centre have initiated the Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award. Tarragon Theatre is sponsoring and helping to promote the award; PACT Communications Centre will administer the award and its selection process, and host the presentation ceremony at the PACT Conference each year.

The Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award was presented in 2008 to Cherry Karpyshin, General Manager of the Prairie Theatre Exchange in Winnipeg, MB. Hailed by those who have worked with her as a true optimist and tireless advocate of the arts, cherry Karpyshin has, in addition to her over twenty-five years working behind the scenes at the Prairie theatre Exchange, been a respected member and leader in numerous cultural organizations throughout Manitoba and Canada, and a mentor to emerging arts administratiors across the country.

The protégé selected by Cherry was Madonna Von Vonderen, Administrator at the Festival Antigonish Summer Theatre in Nova Scotia.

About PACT

The Professional Association of Canadian Theatres (PACT) is a member-driven organization that serves as the collective voice of professional Canadian theatres. For the betterment of Canadian theatre, PACT provides leadership, national representation and a variety of programs and practical assistance to member companies, enabling members to do their own creative work. PACT celebrated 30 years of service in 2006-2007.

About PCC

The PACT Communications Centre (PCC) is the charitable branch of PACT that promotes public interest in theatre, advances knowledge and appreciation of theatre, and increases the accessibility of theatre and the performing arts in Canada by educational means such as online resources, books, magazines and other publications, as well as holding seminars and carrying out studies and research.

About Tarragon Theatre

Tarragon Theatre was founded in 1970, and is well known for its development, creation and production of new work. Major playwrights who have premiered their work at Tarragon include David French, Joan MacLeod, John Murrell, Michael Healey, Morris Panych, James Reaney, Jason Sherman, Morwyn Brebner, Judith Thompson, among many others. Over 150 works have premiered at Tarragon, which is located in mid-town Toronto and has two theatre production spaces and three rehearsal halls.